Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are answers to some of the most frequently asked questions relating to Bingo Friends. If you cannot find an answer to your particular question then please email the BF Team by clicking here and visiting our contact page.
Bingo Friends is owned and managed by The Bingo Association – the trade association for land based bingo operators.
Anyone over the age of 18 who registers an account and passes our identity checks. When users register their personal information, held securely and in accordance with GDPR, it is checked with data company Experian to make sure that users are who they say they are. This way we help ensure that all Bingo Friends users are real.
No. Anyone 18 or over can join up and start finding bingo friends.
Yes. Bingo Friends is free to download and use – we will never ask you for money or any financial details. Please do NOT send financial information to anyone contacting you claiming to be from Bingo Friends, as it wont be us.
You can use the Bingo Friends App on most mobile phone and devices, including tablets, but not on a laptop or desk top computer.
Possibly. In order to download and use the Bingo Friends App you need to have a mobile phone or device that meets certain technical requirements. The majority of devices people have these days do meet these requirements: if your phone or device lets you use things like Facebook, WhatsApp or is able to let you book a taxi, then likelihood is that you can.
Bingo Friends will be a country wide social network once fully launched later this year – so not only can you find new friends you may be able to find friends you lost touch with in other parts of the country.
During testing only people in certain areas of the country are bingo invited to join Bingo Friends, so the majority of people you see online at this time will be in two or three towns only.
Bingo Friends uses a part (but not all) of the post code you registered in order to roughly locate you on the map: it does not show the precise location of your address only the approximate area, like your town.
No. The data check with Experian will not impact your credit rating, as this is a check for identity and not finance related.
All Bingo Friends user profiles are only viewable by other registered users:
- The profile that can be seen by all users shows your first name, age and the things you are interested
- The profile that the users you have agreed to accept online as friends can see your first name, surname, age, things you are interested in, home town and favourite clubs
You can find people on Bingo Friends either by searching specifically for them if you know their user name, or by using the search function available from the Map page of the App once you have registered and logged in.
If you are already a member of a bingo club, or have a friend or two who goes to bingo, then you may very well find them on Bingo Friends too, but equally there will be people looking to make new friends and someone perhaps to go to bingo with, particularly if they are new to bingo and have never been to a club before.
Every licensed bingo club in Great Britain is listed on Bingo Friends, showing their name, address, telephone number and website address. You can contact the club of your choice directly and register with them prior to attending or just go directly to the club and register with them in person during their usual opening hours.
If you register in advance of going to the club, then they will have your membership card ready for you when you arrive along with a warm welcome: they may be happy to give you a quick tour of the club to help you get your bearings so that you know where things are and you can always ask a member of the club team if you are unsure – don’t be shy!
No. Providing you are 18 or over and have proof of id you can join any club directly. Bingo Friends is to help people keep in touch with friends, old and new, who enjoy bingo and find a club at which to play if not already a member somewhere.
No. You can re-install the App using the download and login using your existing user name and password.
Yes. Bingo Friends is FREE to join and use and you can leave and delete you user profile at anytime. Once your account is deleted we delete all your personal details: if you do decide to re-join at a later date you will need to re-register and reconnect to friends as new.
Your use of Bingo Friends is subject to the Bingo Friends Terms and Conditions, which contains a section on Conduct (behaviour) and communicating with other members. You should always read the terms and conditions on anything you participate in: if you are unsure what acceptable or unacceptable behaviour is
in an online community then you should refer to the Terms and Conditions.
For convenience the Community Rules are listed below and by using Bingo Friends you agree that you will not:
- Use the Service for any purpose that is illegal or prohibited by the Terms and Conditions.
- Use the Service for any harmful purpose.
- Use the Service in order to damage Bingo Friends
- Violate our Terms and Conditions, as updated from time to time.
- Spam, solicit money or defraud any users.
- Impersonate any person or entity or post any images of another person without his or her permission.
- Bully, stalk, intimidate, assault, harass, mistreat of defame any person.
- Post any content that infringes anyone’s rights, including rights of privacy, copyright, trademark or other intellectual property or contract right.
- Post any content that is hate speech, threatening, sexually explicit or pornographic, incites violence, or contains nudity or graphic or gratuitous violence.
- Post any content that promotes racism, bigotry, hatred or physical harm of any kind against any group or individual.
- Solicit passwords for any purpose, or personal identifying information for commercial or unlawful purposes from others users or disseminate another person’s personal information without his or her permission.
- Use another users account, share an account with another user, or maintain more than one account.
- Create another account if we have already suspended or terminated your account, unless you have our permission.
- Promote or endorse any third party goods or services using the Service.
If you think someone has gained access to your account, please immediately click here to contact Bingo Friends via our Contact Page stating your name, the name of the account, and the nature of the issue.
We will then contact you by email.
If you think someone has registered a user profile in your name, but it is not you, please immediately click here to contact Bingo Friends via our contact page stating your name, the name of the account, and the specific details of the issue. We will then contact you by email.
(Last updated May 2020)